Skip navigation

Every one has prepared me for Culture Shock. It’s one of those Big Things, that parents, neighbors, and professors warn you about. The orientation that my program gave to us our first day in Moscow had an entire hour dedicated to the phenomenon. But here’s what’s most shocking to me: Moscow is uncannily similar to New York.

I was trying to wait until I had a great story before I posted on this blog. I was waiting for some climatic clash of cultures, a glorious fight scene between my stars-and-stripes American childhood and the post-Soviet megapolis into which I’ve been dropped. But it hasn’t happened yet. Instead of noticing how much differs between Moscow and New York, I’ve found myself tallying the things that the two cities share: Extensive subway systems. Continuous building renovations that force sidewalks to divert their paths. A rush hour on the metro that is so crowded it is frightening. So many museums it is hard to notice them. Huge pools of water every street corner, making each street crossing a grand jete. Looming apartment buildings. Exorbitant prices on drinks. Incessant honking on the streets.

I know that it’s still the first week that I’m here, and maybe eventually I’ll start absorbing how many people are wearing fur hats, the militisia uniforms which still resemble old Communist garb, and the weird flush buttons on every toilets. But right now, I’m just stuck on the similarities. Some of the other students on my program were describing Moscow as very Soviet, imposing, and gritty. I couldn’t really believe them, because the atmosphere of Moscow is so similar to that of New York, which is a lifelong member of the capitalist club of the USA. Here in Moscow, no one smiles at strangers on the metro. True. But, how many people grin continuously on the subway in New York? The culture of Moscow seems to primarily the culture of large cities. The Russian culture is simply frosting on this worldwide culture that is born in large cities.

Leave a comment